17 organizations receive $78,804 from the Foundation | News, Sports, Jobs


The Northern Chautauqua Community Foundation Board of Directors recently approved community grants totaling $78,804, which will be awarded to 17 local organizations. The Community Benefits Grant Program is a semi-annual program that provides grants to organizations seeking funds to improve and strengthen the North Chautauqua County area.

The NCCF Board of Directors has approved the following Community Benefits Grant Program grants: Arts Services Inc. for Midway Trolley Park: Midway Memories Documentary; Chautauqua Cattaraugus Library System for Summer Library Reading Programs and e-books for library; Chautauqua County Rural Department for supervised visitation training materials and supplies; Chautauqua Center for Behavioral Health Suite Furnishings; Chautauqua Establishment for “Opera in Schools” Program for elementary school students; Create a project for “Tradition, Trauma & Tenderness” Documentary production; Darwin Barker Historical Museum for the “Mark Twain in Fredonia” historical exhibition; Dream It Do It program for “Dream it, do it 500” program support; Historic Dunkirk Lighthouse for the improvement of Coast Guard buildings; WNY’s FeedMore to purchase food for Chautauqua County food distribution programs; Lily Dale Assembly for drop-in center materials and supplies; Northlake Family Recreation Center for the expansion of the handicap accessible playground; Silver Creek Historical Society for Historic Signage to designate the Fayette Settlement and Steamship George Washington sites; SUNY Research Foundation for Music Therapy for Dementia Patients and Caregivers; United Way of South Chautauqua County for the IDEA (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Access) Framework Implementation Project; Westfield Development Corporation for downtown streetscape improvements; and Westfield Memorial Hospital Foundation for platform-mounted parallel bars for the physical therapy department.

Current members of the grants committee are Jill Casey, Ann Eckman, Jody Falkner, Margaret Ferris, Cathy Kaicher, Alex Murphy, Rich Ryan, and Kurt Warmbrodt. Jill Casey is chair of the committee and Nancy Adams Fry is president of the NCCF.

The Community Grants Program awards grants twice a year. The next deadline to submit a letter of interest is September 1st. The Northern Chautauqua Community Foundation (NCCF) is committed to improving Chautauqua County by promoting local philanthropy, targeted grantmaking, local scholarships and leadership. Since 1986, the organization has distributed more than $17 million within the community in the form of grants and scholarships.

For more information on NCCF grantmaking opportunities and guidelines, visit https://www.nccfoundation.org/grants-programs or call 716-366-4892.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox


Comments are closed.